Turmeric – what our grandparents knew 

Turmeric – What our grandparents knew I was 10 years old when my Dad tried to wrap a towel drenched in warm oil and turmeric around my knee. I’d hurt it playing the game we called ‘higher and higher’ – a long skipping rope was held by one person at each end. The rope progressively got higher and higher as each participant jumped over it. The winner was the person who jumped over the rope at its highest.

“Dad, we cook with turmeric. I don’t want it on my knee”. 

“Anjula, turmeric is not just for food, it has powerful healing properties. In India it’s been used as a medicine for thousands of years”.

Growing up as one of 8 siblings, turmeric was used for all kinds of ailments – to treat stomach upsets, for antiseptic purposes, and then as we hit our teens it was a treatment for acne. We would go to school smelling of turmeric, and coconut oil which was applied to our hair.

I have always believed that turmeric helps me from head to toe. Turmeric has kept my skin smooth and wrinkle free. I was 16 when my Mum first showed my sisters and I how to use turmeric to keep our skin healthy. I’ve used it ever since.

Turmeric mask for clear radiant skin

Turmeric has had so much written about it in recent years, but most Indian households will tell you that we’ve known about turmeric for years, with grandfathers and parents passing on their knowledge of this wonderful spice. Turmeric is such an easy spice to add to your diet; it helps to improve your wellbeing in so many ways.

If you don’t like the idea of drinking turmeric, fear not because supplements are available too.

Turmeric has been hailed as a holistic healer for over 6,000 years and is used in Ayurveda, known as ‘The science of Life’. My Dad would often make us a milky drink with turmeric when we were young, and I gave it to my children.

I also regularly drink turmeric with black pepper. I encourage you to research why this makes such a good combination.

If I’m going somewhere important, you won’t find me in my local spa, rather in my kitchen making up a face mask using turmeric, honey, gram flour, lemon juice and live yogurt. It also makes a great detox drink as it’s known to gently cleanse your liver.

All of that from a humble and wonderful spice.

Turmeric face mask

Ingredients

1tsp gram flour (chickpea flour)

1/2tsp turmeric powder

1tsp oats

1tsp raw honey

1tsp live yogurt

1tsp fresh lemon juice 

Mix all the ingredients thoroughly in a small bowl. 

place a layer of the mask on your face. Be careful to avoid your 

Allow the mask to dry completely about 15 – 20 minutes, 

Remove the mask with warm water 

Moisturise with a little virgin coconut oil 

Anjula 

 

Leave a Reply

